You can download this document using the link at the bottom of this page.

Some Firefox browsers have trouble rendering PDFs. You can either use a different browser or click on the DOWNLOAD link below.


Legislative Committee:

  • Monitors legislation each session for items that may impact members and their businesses/communities.
  • Works with IABO lobbyist (if hired) to formulate and present IABO opinion to appropriate legislators.
  • Contacts legislators as needed to discuss legislation.
  • Attends and possibly testifies at legislative hearings infrequently.
  • Passes legislative updates along to the membership as needed both through email and at meetings.
  • 1-2 hours per week during the legislative session with occasional need to attend half or full day meetings.


Education Committee:

  • Organizes chapter education events including class selection, procuring locations, organizing catering/food options, scheduling ICC and other instructors, procuring training books and class material (mainly from ICC). 
  • Typically events are two days and are held 2 – 3 times per year in central Iowa and 0-1 times per year in Eastern Iowa.
  • 1-8 hours per week for 8 weeks leading up to event and typically attends each event.


Code Development Committee:

  • Prepares and submits code change proposals on behalf of IABO.
  • Reviews and reports to the members on code change proposals submitted by others.
  • Presents information on code changes to the members and gains consensus of the group.
  • Attends code hearings and testifies on behalf of IABO.
  • Central point of contact for gaining consensus of code interpretations between IABO members (when possible)
  • 1-2 hours per week each week with additional time before code change hearings as needed.


Program Committee:

  • Researches and schedules presenters and topics for each IABO meeting.
  • May assist Education Committee with selection of topics and trainers for Education events.
  • 2 hours per month.


Endorsement Committee:

  • Reviews requests for endorsement from candidates seeking positions for the ICC Board of Directors positions. 
  • Chair is the 1st Vice President per IABO endorsement policy.
  • Minimum of 3 members needed for this committee per endorsement policy.


Membership Committee:

  • To design and implement public outreach and incentive programs to maintain existing and encourage new memberships.


Audit Committee:

  • Completes annual audit of IABO bank account, income, and purchases with a report to the membership in January of each year for the previous year’s activity.
  • 8-12 hours per year.


Scholarship Committee:

  • Receives and reviews scholarship applications and renewals annually.
  • Recommends (or selects?) scholarship winners each year.
  • Reviews and recommends changes to the scholarship program for a vote by the membership.
  • Will review possibility of ICC foundation administering scholarship program for the IABO Chapter.


Nominating Committee:

  • Recommends nominees for the IABO Board of Directors.
  • Meet starting in July for announcement of recommended nominees.  Nominees announced in September and voting is done at the November meeting.
  • 4-6 hours per week for 4 weeks each July/August.


Meetings are held Bi-Monthly on the Second Thursday of the Month.

2017 Committee Member List  
Legislative Committee 
Rod Van Genderen, City of West Des Moines
Brian Bishop, City of Des Moines, CHAIRMAN
Jeff Junker City of Ankeny
Steve Richardson McKeon Door Company
Tim Hennes City of Iowa City
Roger Schemmel, City of Urbandale
Mike Pardekooper City of Altoona
Cody Christensen, City of Des Moines
Education Committee 
Eastern Iowa 
Duncan McCallum, City of Cedar Rapids 
Tim Hennes, City of Iowa City
Neil Bombei, Johnson County
Pat Parsley, City of Hiawatha

Central Iowa 
Mike Pardekooper, City of Altoona
Bob Hendricks, City of Winterset
Rick Parrino, Plum Building Systems, LLC
Roger Schemmel, City of Urbandale
Code Development Committee 
Jack Swarm,  City of Mount Pleasant
Tim Crabb, East Central Intergovernmental Assoc.
Patrick Parsley, City of Hiawatha
Ron Hoover,
Ed Higgins, City of Boone
Jeff Harden, City of Ankeny
Steve Richardson, McKeon Door Company
Nominating Committee  
Creston Turnbull City of Coralville
Bob Hendricks City of Winterset
Craig Witry City of Cedar Falls
Endorsement Committee 
Jerry Byers, City of Pella - CHAIRMAN
Tim Hennes City of Iowa City
Craig Witry City of Cedar Falls
Membership Committee 
Mike Pardekooper, City of Altoona
Sean Devlin, City of Des Moines
Audit Committee 
Roger Schemmel, City of Urbandale
Jeff Junker, City of Ankeny
Scholarship Committee
Mike Pardekooper, City of Altoona
Taylor Matteson, City of Manchester
Jerry Byers, City of Pella
Jeff Harden, City of Ankeny
Mike Bruce, City of Creston
Region III Committee 
Brian Bishop, City of Des Moines
Adam Ostert, City of Ames
Roger Schemmel, City of Urbandale
Program Committee 
Roger Schemmel, City of Urbandale
Rick Parrino, Plum Building Systems

updated 5-29-2018


cloud hostingMeetings are held Bi-Monthly on the Second Thursday of the Month
Learn more


wind energyJoin the more than 150 members of IABO Learn more


hardwareYou can sign up for Seminars right here. Learn more